ISO100, 35mm (prime lens), f/10, 2 sec

Cameron Park (CA), Longiflorum Asiatic Lily Plant, Monochrome

ISO100, 35mm (prime lens), f/10, 2 sec
Cameron Park (CA), Longiflorum Asiatic Lily Plant, Monochrome

As most of you know by now, the posts the photographs are not always 100% relevant, but do tie back to the photograph in some way.  Whether it is a though in my mind that is triggered or some insight brought on while taking the image, the post is an elegant brain dump with some hopeful redeeming value.  Today’s topic: Learning on the fly (or immersion learning, maybe also known as sink or swim learning).  Though thinking back, I almost did sink last year in Lake Tahoe while learning the body really does not do well in alpine lake waters even in summer.  That story is a post for another time.

What do I “learn on the fly” with these posts?  With the current set of flora photography, I am learning as I go on two fronts: how to shoot flowers (angle, aperture) and what the flowers are (name, variations).

As described and commented on previous posts, I have an affinity to shooting flowers from directly in front with everything centered as perfectly as possible.  The focal plane is easier to work with.  If the focus point is on center then aperture controls the focus of everything else radiating outward.  Then there is a symmetry and order that is appealing to me and the image lends itself well to being an isolated object photograph.

Of course, I would love to know what I am photographing, especially if the plants and flowers are from my own garden.  While is it easy to identify plants I have planted – just have to read the plastic tag that comes with the plant.  Yet, when I have hundreds of tags in bags or the plant is from a trail walk, it is sometimes easier and much more educational to go one a web search and find out more information about a plant varietal than I ever would from a plant tag.  I have even learned about how some plants can be propagated and/or overwintered for the next growing season.

So one of the unintended consequences of photography for me is learning more about photography, but more importantly, forcing me to immerse myself into subjects I know very little about – whether the subject is a plant, a location, or even geology.

Plant Notes: What we have in this photograph is the beginning growth of a new type of lily.  It is a cross between the well known Easter lily (Lilium longiflorum) with white flowers and sold in stores around Easter (which happens to be this week) and the Asiatic lily (Lilium asiatica) which come in a variety of colors.  When the lily cross finally blooms in midsummer the flowers are bright yellow, lending to its name: Lilium “Golden Tycoon” – LA (longiflorum asiatic) hybrid.

Interesting to know that Easter lilies typically bloom in the summer and not around Easter.  The full bloom plants for sale during the Easter season are grown in a greenhouse in the winter.  True to form, this lily is current growing a tall column of green leaves with no hint of flowers yet.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, spot metering mode, ISO100, 35mm (prime lens), f/10, 2 sec

Cameron Park (CA), Longiflorum Asiatic Lily Plant, Monochrome. Cameron Park, CA. April 12, 2017. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Cameron Park (CA), Longiflorum Asiatic Lily Plant, Monochrome

  1. I like the tonality and hard vignette n this composition. I also like to research my subjects. The backstory, background or context provides value to the post. Last year, while researching branching structures in nature, I came across the Fibonacci Sequence and where it can be found at Mother Nature. Cool stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you CJ, glad to hear you like the comp. It’s interesting you mention the Fibonacci Sequence. I once posted a photograph of the sand patterns created by receding waves and good friend of mine started mentioning the similarities to the patterns and fractals. An example, like yours, of mathematics being reflecting in nature.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

