ISO100, 22mm, f/3.5, 1/1000 sec

Clarksville (CA), Fence Post, Grasses, Hills, Square Crop

ISO100, 22mm, f/3.5, 1/1000 sec
Clarksville (CA), Fence Post, Grasses, Hills, Square Crop

I find I am less patient, less exacting in framing compositions when I am out shooting without my tripod.  There is a laissez faire approach when I do not have to go through the process of setting up the gear.  So while I may miss some shots because I think the scene is not “good enough” to set up gear for, I take more shots without the tripod.

With the tripod up holding the camera, I take more time inspecting the scene, composing through the viewfinder.  Then taking the time to reframe and reshoot as needed.  Maybe I am uncomfortable handholding the camera.  I am certainly more deliberate and my process of shooting is slowed down when I do not have to hold the camera.

For this photograph, I took two shots, both of the same composition, with the fence post in the center of the horizontal composition.  I was much more concerned with placing the post and grass between the dark tree elements in the distant background.  Of course, I rarely place a primary element in the center of the frame and after starting the post processing on the computer, I could understand why.  The composition looked very boring.  If I had given myself time to recompose, I would have shot vertically and just a tad zoomed out.  This would have provided more sky and properly reduced the size of the post relative to the grass on top.

Normally I would go reshoot this sometime in the near future.  Yet since this area is private property and only open to the public once a year through the Clarksville Regional Historical Society, I will make due with the square crop and remind myself to bring the tripod even if I think it is not necessary.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center-weighted metering mode, ISO100, 22mm, f/3.5, 1/1000 sec

Clarksville (CA), Fence Post, Grasses, Hills, Square Crop. Clarksville/El Dorado Hills, CA. May 06, 2017. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

