ISO100, 165mm, f/8, 1/5 sec

Orick (CA), Birch Trees, Monochrome

ISO100, 165mm, f/8, 1/5 sec
Orick (CA), Birch Trees, Monochrome

Lately it has been more about the journey than the destination, especially when the clouds or my need to sleep an extra couple of hours get in the way.  Sure, I still have an itinerary of places to visit and photograph.  I even have an idea of when I would like to shoot those locations.  It does not always work out like I planned.

Even though the goal is to capture some great images, I have also made it a goal to “see” the landscape and the cities/towns between the destinations.  That means driving during the day (so I can see something besides darkness and animals cross the path of my headlights), taking the scenic byway every so often, stopping at vista points and parks, and visiting the surprisingly numerous fish hatcheries whenever I go.

This photograph is of birch trees – though I am in a redwood state park.  There was a sign on the highway for a scenic byway through the park and there was no rush for me to get to the next destination.  Perfect.  Though this 30 minute side trip, I ended up with this photograph and a few minutes of exploring and taking fun photos of my dog in the redwoods.  I guarantee he thinks walking around sniffing new smells is way more exciting than sitting in the car while I endlessly drive.

Next time you are on a road trip, maybe take the indirect route and see something beside the main highway.

Location Notes: Prairie Creek State Park is home to Roosevelt Elk and the famous Fern Canyon.  The state park is located adjacent north of Redwood National and State Parks about an hour south of the California/Oregon border.

EXIF data: Nikon D7000, center-weighted metering mode, ISO100, 165mm, f/8, 1/5 sec

Orick (CA), Birch Trees, Monochrome. Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park, Orick, CA. June 30, 2017. © Copyright Steven Tze – all rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Orick (CA), Birch Trees, Monochrome

Leave a Reply

